Dressing Professionally

Since being a dog walker for the last year, I have become out of touch with fashion and professional dress.  I still want to dress professional and look appropriate to my legal peers.  Juggling both dog walking and a law practice is not going to be easy for me.  I have been reassessing my closet of clothes since working for a mobile apps company here in the city.  What I found was a bunch of ill-fitting clothes (I seriously need to hit the gym) and not much to make me feel confident as a professional.  My dog walking uniform consists of cropped yoga pants and sports bras.  Not going to transition well into a professional field.

This article about lawyers dressing professionally made me reassess my choices again.  Wait a minute, I have skirts that show my butt off, I don’t have nude colored stockings to wear under the ill-fitting skirts, and wait, I also have button downs where my chest is about to explode out of their buttons.  This is tragic.  What really pushed me over the edge was when I finished volunteering for SF SPCA, I had to run to a networking mixer for new attorneys.  I was wearing rain boots, jeans, and a cardigan.  I was mortified and embarrassed as I walked into the sea of suits. I almost wanted to turn back around and go shopping for a new wardrobe or call TLC’s What Not to Wear on myself!

The next day, I made an emergency visit to the Macy’s Union Square and found some deals on work appropriate dresses.  Thank you Macy’s for having an awesome sale!  I found dresses that did not show off the girls and were closer to my knees than my ass.  I feel a little more confident with some more appropriate outfits to go to work, mixers and meetings, but I still have a long way to go.  I just have to remember it’s okay to wear the yoga pants to walk the dogs, but I’m still a lawyer under these yoga pants and I need to look that part too sometimes.

<p>Image courtesy of [imagerymajestic] / <a href="http://www.freedigitalphotos.net" target="_blank">FreeDigitalPhotos.net</a></p>

Woman with shopping Bags: Image courtesy of imagerymajestic/www.freedigitalphotos.net

About alawyerwalksyourdog

Kelly W. Cheung is a California attorney seeking answers to career and life questions as she journeys on an unconventional path to personal and professional success gaining the strength and inspiration from the animals she works with.
This entry was posted in Law Practice, Lessons and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

